How did your MP vote on Theresa May’s Brexit deal?

33 Welsh MPs voted against Theresa May’s Brexit deal which was defeated in Parliament by 149 votes.

The Prime Minister’s revised EU Withdrawal was voted down 391 votes to 242.

Two Welsh Conservative MPs rebelled to reject Mrs May’s deal in Tuesday’s night’s vote in the Commons – Clwyd West MP, David Jones, and Aberconwy MP Guto Bebb both sided against the Prime Minister.

David Jones is a former Welsh Secretary and staunch supporter of Brexit – he lead the Welsh arm of the Vote Leave campaign.

Guto Bebb on the other hand has been vocal about his support of a second referendum on Brexit.

In July of last year, he quit as Defence Minister following a vote on membership of a customs union with the EU but insisted the Prime Minister had his ‘total support.’

All 27 Welsh Labour MPs voted against, as did all four Plaid Cymru MPs.

Following the vote, First Minister, Mark Drakeford, said that Mrs May’s ‘deal is dead’ and called for no-deal to be table off the table.

Plaid Cymru reiterated calls for a second referendum on whether to stay in the European Union. Liz Saville Roberts said it’s only ‘right and proper’ to put the vote to the people:

It is only right and proper that people have a final say on the deal in front of them. Plaid Cymru has been clear and consistent: the Withdrawal Agreement would be catastrophic for Wales, taking us out of the Single Market and Customs Union, removing our rights to live, study and work in the rest of Europe, while saying nothing about our future relationship.


Which MPs voted against the deal?


  • Tonia Antoniazzi, Gower
  • Kevin Brennan, Cardiff West
  • Chris Bryant, Rhondda
  • Ann Clwyd, Cynon Valley
  • Wayne David, Caerphilly
  • Geraint Davies, Swansea West
  • Stephen Doughty, Cardiff South and Penarth
  • Chris Elmore, Ogmore
  • Chris Evans, Islwyn
  • Nia Griffith, Llanelli
  • David Hanson, Delyn
  • Carolyn Harris, Swansea East
  • Gerald Jones, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney
  • Susan Elan Jones, Clwyd South
  • Stephen Kinnock, Aberavon
  • Ian Lucas, Wrexham
  • Anna McMorrin, Cardiff North
  • Madeleine Moon, Bridgend
  • Jessica Morden, Newport East
  • Albert Owen, Ynys Mon
  • Christina Rees, Neath
  • Chris Ruane, Vale of Clwyd
  • Nick Smith, Blaenau Gwent
  • Owen Smith, Pontypridd
  • Jo Stevens, Cardiff Central
  • Mark Tami, Alyn and Deeside
  • Nick Thomas-Symonds, Torfaen


  • David Jones, Clwyd West
  • Guto Bebb, Aberconwy

Plaid Cymru:

  • Jonathan Edwards, Carmarthen East and Dinefwr
  • Ben Lake, Ceredigion
  • Liz Saville-Roberts, Dwyfor Meirionnydd
  • Hywel Williams, Arfon

Which MPs voted for the deal?


  • Alun Cairns, Vale of Glamorgan
  • Stephen Crabb, Preseli Pembrokeshire
  • Christopher Davies, Brecon and Radnorshire
  • Glyn Davies, Montgomeryshire
  • David TC Davies Monmouth
  • Simon Hart, Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire

What happens now?

Following the defeat, Theresa May confirmed there will be two further votes on Brexit outcomes.

On Wednesday, MPs will be asked to vote on whether they want to approve a no-deal Brexit. Tory MPs will be given a free vote on it.

After the result, Welsh Secretary, Alun cairns failed to clarify whether he will vote against a no deal Brexit despite insisting that the UK should leave the European Union with a deal.

If the Commons rejects leaving the EU without a deal, a vote will then be held on whether to delay the UK’s departure.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *